The Silent Dreams

​In the dead of the night, the dreams awaken.

The quiet ones, not brave enough to withstand the light of day.

Spinning and swirling around my head, the hours flash by.

The lines between what is and what can be blur, creating a false sense of empowerment.

I can be anything, be anywhere, do anything.

The rules of reality are shattered by the blackness.

The highest peak beneath my feet, the stars are within my reach.

I am blinded by the power.

But all too soon, the illusion disintegrates, as the darkness begins to fade.

Unwilling to let go, I clutch with flailing hands, but my control slips.

Sleep takes over and the dreams are once again hushed into the dark shadows, where the light can never reach them.

Leave a Reply

